17-21 July 2017
Santiago de Compostela, Facultade de Química
Europe/Madrid timezone

Realization of a Ferroelectric-Domain-Wall Tunnel Junction

18 Jul 2017, 17:50
Aula Química Inorgánica (Facultad Química (USC))

Aula Química Inorgánica

Facultad Química (USC)

Quantum Materials and Technologies (GEFES) Quantum Materials and Technologies (GEFES) I


Dr. Javier Tornos (Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales Madrid - CSIC)


Harnessing the electronic response of ferroelectric thin films may be key in the realization of the visionary concept “The Wall is the Device” [1] towards future non-volatile memories, logic elements or energy-harvesting devices. While extensive work has been devoted to exploit the technological opportunities of the ferroelectric ground state in ultrathin films, and to understand the nature and properties of its domain walls, they have yet to be incorporated into an active device element [2,3]. Here we show results of a magnetic tunnel junction device consisting of a ferroelectric BaTiO3 tunnel barrier just 4.4-nanometer thick, with ferromagnetic La0.7Sr0.3MnO3 electrodes, containing a head-to-head domain wall within its thickness. A confined electron gas is formed at the ferroelectric domain wall, stabilized by oxygen vacancies, which controls the tunneling transport of the magnetic tunnel junction. Resonant tunneling assisted by the discrete levels of the ferroelectric quantum well gives rise to strong quantum oscillations of the tunneling conductance. Our engineered, highly constrained, domain wall provides a major step forward towards exploiting the electronic properties of domain walls for ferroelectric tunnel barriers with new functionalities [4].

Primary author

Dr. Javier Tornos (Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales Madrid - CSIC)


Dr. Ana Perez (Universidad Complutense Madrid) Dr. Carlos Leon (UCM) Dr. Carmen Munuera (ICMM-CSIC) Mr. David Hernandez (Universidad Complutense Madrid) Dr. Federico Mompean (ICMM-CSIC) Dr. Gabriel Sanchez-Santolino (Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid) Dr. Jacobo Santamaria (UCM) Dr. Jesús Ricote (ICMM-CSIC) Dr. Juan I Beltran (Universidad Complutense Madrid) Dr. Mar Garcia-Hernandez (ICMM-CSIC) Dr. Maria Carmen Muñoz (ICMM-CSIC) Dr. Maria Varela (UCM) Mrs. Mariona Cabero (Universidad Complutense Madrid) Mrs. Marta Rio (Universidad Complutense Madrid) Dr. Steve J. Pennycook (National University of Singapore) Dr. Zouhair Sefrioui (UCM)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now